Overwatch League releases 2021 season schedule

Overwatch League releases 2021 season schedule

The Overwatch League has released the complete 2021 season schedule that will begin on April 16 and consist of four tournament cycles.

The Houston Outlaws kick off the season in a Battle for Texas matchup against the Dallas Fuel, and the back-to-back champion San Francisco Shock kick off their campaign for a three-peat against the Los Angeles Gladiators.

The league has divided teams into East and West groups based on their location for the 2021 season, and each tournament will feature a playoff with the top two teams from each region.

The East includes eight teams competing in China and South Korea:

Chengdu Hunters
Guangzhou Charge
Hangzhou Spark
Los Angeles Valiant
New York Excelsior
Philadelphia Fusion
Shanghai Dragons
Seoul Dynasty

The West includes 12 teams competing in Europe and North America:

Atlanta Reign
Boston Uprising
Dallas Fuel
Florida Mayhem
Houston Outlaws
London Spitfire
Los Angeles Gladiators
Paris Eternal
San Francisco Shock
Vancouver Titans
Toronto Defiant
Washington Justice

The four tournaments scheduled include the May Melee, June Joust, Summer Showdown and Countdown Cup. Each team will compete in four matches each tournament to determine qualification and seeding.

Teams from both regions will compete in the four tournaments. In the West, the top six qualifying teams will first play a round of knockout matches, with two teams advancing to tournament weekend. In the East, the top four qualifiers will play down to two teams. The top two teams from the East and West will then play in a double-elimination bracket to determine a tournament champion.